Minutes of the Annual General Meeting

Canadian Association of Slavists

May 28, 2017

In attendance: 41

- 1. Welcome Association President Allison Rowley opened the meeting at 14:08 and welcomed all present to the meeting and to our conference.
- 2. A minute of silence to remember members of CAS who have passed away.
- 3. Approval of the Agenda. Moved Zina Gimpelevich Seconded Gust Olson Carried
- 4. Approval of Minutes of the Previous Meeting. Moved Heather Coleman Seconded Andrij
 Makuch Carried
- 5. Awarding of the CAS/Taylor & Francis Book Prize to Dr. Myroslav Shkandrij. The recipient was not in attendance, but participated in a very successful panel session Q and A about the book earlier in the day. Heather Coleman, Editor of CSP provided the background to the prize and highlighted the support provided by Taylor and Francis. Andriy Zayarnyuk read the citation on behalf of the committee. Emma Sanders, representing Taylor and Francis, delivered the official certificate for the award.
- 6. President's Report by Alison Rowley. In her report the President expressed thanks to the executive for its work over the year. She reminded members of the upcoming ICCEES conference in August 2020 and that CAS would hold its annual conference and meeting to coincide with it and not at Congress that year. She identified updating of the website and communications as the main task for the upcoming year. Arising from that discussion, Anna Herran from McGill volunteered to serve as the CAS social media co-ordinator.

7. Executive Reports

a. Secretary-Treasurer's Report by Maryna Romanets https://sites.ualberta.ca/~csp/cas/reports/CAS%20secretary%20treasurer%20report%2020 16-17.pdf

In response to a question about whether some funds should be moved from operating to investments, the Treasurer expressed the view that given current rates and risks there would be little to gain from doing so; however she would be open to advice and suggestions. Heather Coleman, as editor of CSP provided some background on how membership fees are distributed between the journal and CAS. Approval of the report moved by Maryna Romanets Seconded by Jars Balan. Carried.

b. Canadian Slavonic Papers Editor's Report by Heather Coleman https://sites.ualberta.ca/~csp/cas/reports/2017_CSP_report.pdf

Questions from members: George Michaychuk wondered why it is no longer possible to have an "on-line only" subscription. At present, it is not possible for subscribers to have an on-line only subscription through Taylor & Francis. Natalia Konenko indicated there were challenges in completing submissions on-line and Jars Balan pointed out that the automated system was rather aggressive in its reminders to reviewers.

c. Conference Chair Report by Taras Koznarsky

The conference chair reported things were going smoothly. He received 22 full and partial panel submissions as well as 56 individual submissions. There were a number of last-minute cancellations. In response to a question he indicated that as of the time of reporting 98 individuals had registered.

d. CAS representative to ICCEES Report by Andrii Krawchuk

https://sites.ualberta.ca/~csp/cas/reports/CAS%202017%20Report.pdf

- e. CAS representative to the International Committee of Slavists, by Olga Mladenova Dr. Mladenova was not in attendance but Heather Coleman gave a brief update. She indicated that the rules for participation in the ICS Conference, which is held every 5 years, are that the papers for each national delegation must have been previously published in a fashion chosen by the respective national associations, and in our case it is in a special edition of CSP. Olga Mladenova is working on this and other aspects of our participation.
- 8. Nominating Committee Report and Elections.

Continuing in their positions:

Allision Rowley	2018
Maryna Romanets	2019
Heather Coleman	2021
Olga Mladenova	2018
Elena Baraban	2019
Natalia Pylypiuk	2019
	Maryna Romanets Heather Coleman Olga Mladenova Elena Baraban

Program Chair/LAC Congress 2018 in Regina

Natalia Khanenko-Friesen/Joy Demoscov

Presentation of the slate of nominees for 2017-2018

Honorary President Zina Gimpelevich

Vice-Presidents Bohdan Nebesio, Volha Issakova

ICCEES Andriy Krawchuk

Program Chair/LAC Congress 2019 in Vancouver

Katherine Bowers

Nominating Comm Megan Swift, Svitlana Krys

Grad Student Reps Dorota Lockyer, Oksana Vyynyk

Members-at-Large Serhy Yekelchuk, Maria Bondarenko, Nigel Raab, Allan Reid, Donna

Orwin, Taras Koznarsky

9. Other business

Under other business, Natalia Konenko reminded members of the addition of a poster session, organized by Alla Nedashkviska as a new component of our conference. Secondly, she inquired about the absence of a joint session this year and the desirability of having one regularly if at all possible. Thirdly, she expressed thanks to Taras Koznarsky for his work as Program Chair, which was accompanied by an enthusiastic round of applause. A question was asked about the status of the undergraduate essay prize. The response indicated that there had been some glitches in the process and the winner had yet been decided. Finally, Bohdan Harasymiw expressed a vote of thanks to the Executive for a job well done over the course of the year.

10. Motion to Adjourn